Scene Spotlight: ‘The Grand Entrance’ – The Count of Monte Cristo

Hello, welcome to the first edition of Scene Spotlight. I was looking at this old post I did back when this blog first started, where I list 20 movie scenes I could watch over and over again, and I thought why not make it a regular post? I’m thinking a couple of times a month.

To start things off, I just picked a random movie that somehow had three actors I love who are grossly underused in Hollywood: Jim Caviezel, Guy Pierce and a very young Henry Cavill (who already looks poised to be Superman one day). Interesting that Caviezel was once considered for the Superman role in Superman Returns before Brandon Routh was cast.

The Count of Monte Cristo is a remake of the Alexander Dumas’ tale by the same name. Edmond Dantes (Caviezel), a sailor who is falsely accused of treason by his best friend Fernand Mondego (Guy Pearce), who wants Dantes’ girlfriend Mercedes for himself. Dantes is imprisoned on the island prison of Chateau d’If for 13 years, where he plots revenge against those who betrayed him. With the help of another prisoner, a priest (Richard Harris), he escapes the island and proceeds to transform himself into the wealthy Count of Monte Cristo as part of his plan to exact revenge.

One of my favorite scene is Dantes’ dramatic entrance as the new ‘Count’ flying down from a hot air balloon amidst a spectacular fireworks display on his estate. The tall, dark and handsome Caviezel looks striking and regal in his opulent robe as he strides down the path to greet his guest. It’s kind of sentimental, even corny, but it just works! 

Caviezel_CountMonteCristoThe grossly-underrated Caviezel makes for a convincing and sympathetic flawed hero, whilst Pierce plays the devious villain with aplomb. Their relationship from friend to foe is fascinating to watch. At times Pierce is a bit over the top but still fun to watch. It’s also got a great supporting cast: Richard Harris as the priest who lets Dantes in on the treasure, and Luis Guzmán as the count’s right hand man provides comic relief.

I wonder if Mel Gibson saw this movie before he cast Caviezel as Jesus in The Passion of the Christ. In the beginning of the clip above, he definitely has the right look to play the Savior! Though Cristo isn’t a “Christian” movie, yet it has the underlying theme is that ‘vengeance is Lord’s’: “Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord.” – Romans 12:19.

If you haven’t seen it, it’s definitely a poignant and entertaining period swashbuckling flick that warrant repeated viewings!


What do you think of this movie and/or this particular scene?

4 thoughts on “Scene Spotlight: ‘The Grand Entrance’ – The Count of Monte Cristo

  1. Samantha

    Wow, really? I thought this one of the worst films I’d ever seen. I admit to being a big fan of the book, but I never expect films to live up to that kind of hype. Regardless, one huge, anachronistic, poorly put-together mess. Ah well. 🙂

    1. Ouch! Sorry this doesn’t live up to you, Sam, but to each their own I guess. I haven’t read the book, but I realize they take a lot of liberty with the story. The book is almost always better than the movie, still, I find it highly entertaining.

  2. Marc

    One of my favorite parts of the film was Richard Harris. I thought he would have been a perfect Gandalf, but if so then he would have died and they’d have to replace him with Michael Gambon like in the Harry Potter Series:)

    So true, the film world needs more Guy Pearce, and although Jim Caviezel plays some solid roles, it’s tough to not associate him with Passion of the Christ so that’s maybe why he’s having trouble making a bigger name for himself.

    If you haven’t see it, check out Frequency…there’s some above average acting from JC…oh man I just noticed that he has the same initials as Jesus…where have I been?:P

    1. Yes, I do love that part with Edmond in prison, it’s a great conversation between them. He would make a perfect Gandalf, wouldn’t he? But my fave role of Harris is still Emperor Marcus Aurelius in Gladiator, though he was quite amusing in Camelot where he actually sang!

      Haven’t seen Frequency but I definitely should. I think he did Cristo long before The Passion, but yeah, now it’s tough to disassociate him from such a powerful role. Guess what, Marc, he was exactly 33 years old when he played Jesus, so perhaps it’s meant to be.

Join the conversation by leaving a comment